Hachi

I had the lunch Wagyu Omakase at Hachi restaurant. Small place, but very cosy. If you sit at the bar, you can watch your chef make your food. Sushi master!

382

A man who seemed to be the manager talked us through the courses, telling us about the different Wagyu cows from different places in Japan, etc. Unfortunately, I’m a terrible audio learner so it was more of an enjoy-the-moment kind of enlightening.

383

At the end of the counter, there was a tank full of oysters! Talk about fresh, huh?

387.JPG

1st Course: Sea urchin and mushroom tempura. This was the first time I’d ever eaten sea urchin, and I did not regret it. Sea urchin + seaweed + tempura = bliss.

392

2nd Course: Oyster! Chili flakes gave it a punch, and I enjoyed it despite typically avoiding spicy food. Also, this oyster was gigantic. It took me three bites. The shell was about 3/4 of a chopstick’s length.

407

3rd Course: Wagyu beef cheeks with Japanese yam and edamame. I can’t find fault with Wagyu beef cheeks, honestly. And the Japanese yam was a good pairing.

416

4th Course: Fish from the tuna family. I love my sashimi, so this was a treat. It didn’t feel like it was just thawed, and it tasted fresh.

421

5th Course: Wagyu! With tatami iwashi and foie gras powder. Absolutely divine.

422

5th Course from regular lunch Omakase: Wagyu! Notice how both dishes have different Wagyu? They’re cows from different regions in Japan. We received an enlightening lesson on the world of Wagyu’s.

428

6th Course: Wagyu nigiri. With foie gras powder, sea urchin and caviar, and ponzu respectively. I must say eating these was an amazing experience. Not only was it exquisite, it was also such a unique dish. I mean, I don’t think I’ve ever come across Wagyu sushi in a menu (or other Omakase’s I’ve tried, for that matter).

438

7th Course: Soba noodles with small dried shrimp and Japanese sticky yam. The yam and shrimp really added to the noodles. There was hidden wasabe under that nori, though. What a rush!

452

8th (and last) Course: Yuzu jelly with black bean, accompanied by tea. The tea was pretty plain, which actually worked at the end of everything as a palate cleanser of sorts. The jelly was refreshing and the black beans went well with the jelly. Since I was taking photos, the apparent manager sprinkled some gold flakes into our bowls for some prettifying!

Overall, I truly enjoyed this entire experience. The food was great and of high quality, the friendly chef and attentive manager added personal touches to the whole meal, and the ambience was ideal for a relaxing lunch.

I also learned that they only serve fresh food directly from Japan. If there’s a delay in shipment, etc., they just don’t open that day since the food won’t be fresh. I found that both reassuring and impressive (other than that voice in the back of my mind worrying that my future reservations may be cancelled by the restaurant).

I’ve been looking for opportunities to return for their dinner Omakase. That should be a real treat. I’d highly recommend trying this out.

** Do note that their menu changes seasonally **

Hachi Restaurant
6 Mohamed Sultan Rd, #01-01
S’pore 238596
Mon-Fri (incl. PH): 12PM to 230PM, 6PM to 11PM
Sat & Sun: 6PM to 11PM

Leave a Reply

